About a representative office

Compressed file

The Representative Office of Rossotrudnichestvo in India unites five Russian Centers of Science and Culture (RCSC) in New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and Trivandrum. The main representative office of Rossotrudnichestvo is situated in the RCSC in New Delhi, which celebrated its 45th anniversary in 2010, the rest of the RCSCs are its branches.

The activity of the Representative Office is governed by the legislation of the Russian Federation as well as by the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation between Russia and India signed in 1993 and the Declaration on Strategic Partnership between Russia and India signed in 2010.

The Representative Office is aimed at forming a fair image of modern Russia abroad, its economic and intellectual potential, domestic and foreign policy.

The Representative Office works with Russian and Indian non-profit, governmental, non-governmental and religious organizations and institutions in academic, cultural, information and humanitarian fields. The Representative Office actively uses all the potential of public diplomacy in cooperation with the civic institutions of India.

The introduction of Indian society to the external policy of Russia is an important part of informational work of the Representative Office and its branches. In this regard delivering major international events with participation of prominent politicians and public policy figures, military persons and scientists from Russia and other countries is a significant part of work of the Representative Office. For example, in March 2010, the Kolkata RCSC participated in organizing an online conference with the Prime Minister of the Russian Federation Vladimir V. Putin, who was on his working visit in India. The conference connected expert audience from the financial hub of India – Mumbai, the electronic industry hub – Bangalore, and the cultural hub of the country – Kolkata. Major public events dedicated to the Victory Day, the Russia-India diplomatic relations establishment anniversary as well as events related to political and economic situation in Russia, global security, development of global institutions such as the UN and BRIC are held on a regular basis.

Seeing to the promotion of the Russian language, the Representative Office encourages development of Indian centers of Russian studies as well as fosters admission of Indian students to Russian higher educational institutions. The Russian studies position is strengthened through expanding the syllabus of the Russian language course at the RCSC with regard to the participants’ interests, through developing cooperation with local educational institutions and “Russkiy Mir” Foundation. The Representative Office is actively involved in the organization of international conferences, professional development trainings and contests for teachers in Russian philology. In March 2010, the Representative Office launched an interactive video course in Kerala, whose broadcast is provided by the Indian Government satellite “Edusat”. Owing to the new technology, only two Russian specialists of the RCSC in Trivandrum are enough to reach out to almost two hundred students from 14 regions of Kerala. The development of distance video courses is in progress in Chennai and New Delhi. The number of centers of Russian language studies launched with assistance of the Representative Office is increasing. The number of admissions of Indian students sent for studies to Russia sponsored by federal budget as well as the number of students of Indian schools attending summer language camp “Moskovia” with assistance of the RCSC increases every year.

All the RCSCs facilitate admission of foreign students to the Russian higher educational institutions and keep in touch with their alumni. In May, the RCSC and partner organizations hoste the annual fair of Russian higher educational institutions with the participation of 10-15 Russian higher educational institutions' representatives. The Russian Center for International Education works on a permanent basis at the RCSC in New Delhi and Chennai, spreading information about Russian higher educational institutions as well as advantages of Russian education.

The Representative Office's aim is to perceive further strengthening of relations with compatriots residing in India as well as to assist to their efforts in extending cultural, scientific and business cooperation with Russia. Our compatriots have an opportunity to access libraries and video libraries of the RCSC, participate in club activities, attend the Russian language courses. The Representative Office comprehensively supports the Delhi Association of Russian compatriots based in the RCSC in New Delhi as well as clubs and associations of the compatriots in Chennai and Mumbai. The RCSCs provide assistance to the compatriot associations in organizing events dedicated to Russian festive and memorable dates. August 2010 witnessed active participation of the Representative Office in New Delhi in IV Conference of Russian Compatriots of the Asian-Pacific Region. In August 2011, at the First All-India Conference of Russian Compatriots in New Delhi representatives of Compatriots’ organizations from New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata elected a Coordination Council to enhance interaction between Russian compatriots in India.

The Representative Office’s cooperation with the Russian Orthodox Church promotes maintenance of national and cultural identity of Russian compatriots in India, their connection with the homeland as well as spreading information on the spiritual values of Russian people in India. The RCSC on a regular basis hosts meetings and regional conferences of the Russian compatriots with participation of the Archpriest of St. Thomas the Apostle parish (New Delhi) Father Gennadiy (Moroz).

All Russian Centers of Science and Culture hold music festivals, film shows, art and photo exhibitions as well as organize performances of Russian folk groups and renowned artists.  A unique event of India's capital cultural life in 2010 was the exhibition of Russian art of XIX – XX centuries “Russian Winter” from the State Russian Museum collection (St.Petersburg). The only one in history of Russia-India cultural relation exhibition commemorated the 45th anniversary of the RCSC in New Delhi. The exhibition performed original works of Boris Kustodiev, Alexey Savrasov, Konstantin Makovsky, Petre Gruzinski, Igor Grabar and other Russian masters.

In 2007, the Representative Office and the Embassy of the Russian Federation in association with VK “Sovexportfilm” succeeded in returning Russian cinema to India. April 2007 witnesed the first (after 1991) full-featured Russian film festival with participation of the national cinema stars. The festival commemorated the 60th anniversary of the diplomatic relations establishment between our countries. After almost a 20 year gap Russian film festivals returned to India and became an annual event in New Delhi and other major cities of the country.

Moving towards the development of relations between Russia and the CIS countries, in August 2010, the Representative Office started the annual international film festival “Druzhba” (“Friendship), with both India and the CIS countries participantion.

Creative schools, clubs, art groups, hobby clubs operate in all RCSCs and contribute to spreading information about Russia and its cultural values in India. The School of Russian Classical Ballet, Botvinnik Chess Academy, Alekhin Chess School, S. Eisenstein Film Club, youth literary club “Rifma” (“Rhyme”), Russian language lovers club, art schools, vocal and piano classes enjoy the maximum popularity.

Forming local audience’s interest to our country’s achievements in science and high technologies as well as developing business cooperation between Russia and India is an important aspect of work of the Representative Office. The 50th anniversary of Yury Gagarin’s space flight, 300th birth anniversary of Mikhail Lomonosov, opening of the Centre of Innovations “Skolkovo” have become an incentive to more active work in this direction. The Representative Office contributes to enhance twin-city relations between Moscow and Delhi, Saint-Petersburg and Mumbai, Volgograd and Chennai as well as to invite Russian regions including Stavropolskiy region and the Altai Territory to bilateral cooperation.

Working with the youth is also one of key areas of the Representative Office’s activities. Every month the RCSC in New Delhi organizes sessions of youth literary club “Rifma” where students of Delhi higher education institutions familiarize themselves with Russian literature and basics of literary translation from Russian language into Hindi. The RCSC has been more active in organizing youth forums, debates and cultural programmes in the leading higher educational institutions of India. Quizzes for school and college students on Russian culture, history and scientific achievements have become an important form of work. The First all-India online quiz on history of Great Patriotic War with the participation of around five hundred school and college students from all over the country was organized in 2010.

Russia and India have been strategic partners for more than ten years. The intensity of Russia-India cooperation which has been developing steadily and constructively is passed onto the Representative Office and makes it move towards the latest trends in bilateral relationship, which can be now characterized as “privileged strategic partnership”.

О представительстве

File

Представительство Россотрудничества в Индии объединяет пять Российских центров науки и культуры (РЦНК) в Нью-Дели, Мумбаи, Калькутте, Ченнаи и Тривандруме. Главный офис Представительства расположен в РЦНК в Нью-Дели, который отметил в 2015 году свое 50-летие, остальные РЦНК являются его отделениями.

В своей работе Представительство руководствуется законодательством Российской Федерации, а также Договором о дружбе и сотрудничестве России и Индии от 1993 года и Декларацией о российско-индийском стратегическом партнерстве от 2010 года.

Деятельность Представительства направлена на формирование за рубежом объективного представления о современной России, ее материальном и духовном потенциале, о содержании внутри- и внешнеполитического курса страны.

Представительство сотрудничает в научной, культурной, информационной и гуманитарной областях с российскими некоммерческими, неправительственными и религиозными организациями, с государственными и неправительственными структурами Индии. Представительство активно взаимодействует с институтами гражданского общества Индии, используя потенциал общественной дипломатии.

Работа по ознакомлению индийской общественности с внешней политикой России занимает все большее место в информационной деятельности Представительства и его отделений. Важной формой работы в этом плане является проведение крупных международных мероприятий с участием видных государственных и общественно-политических деятелей, военных и ученых из России и других стран. Так, в марте 2010 года РЦНК в Калькутте принял участие в организации интернет-конференции Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации В.В. Путина, находившегося с рабочим визитом в Индии. Конференция объединила экспертную аудиторию из финансовой столицы Индии - Мумбаи, центра электронной промышленности - Бангалора и культурной столицы страны - Калькутты. Регулярно проводятся крупные общественные мероприятия, посвященные Дню Победы, годовщине установления дипотношений России и Индии, а также темам, связанным с политическим и экономическим положением в России, глобальной безопасностью, развитием международный институтов, таких как ООН и БРИК.

Заботясь о распространении русского языка, Представительство содействует развитию индийских центров русистики, а также набору индийских студентов для обучения в российских вузах. Укрепление позиций русистики в Индии идет путем расширения учебных программ курсов русского языка при РЦНК с учетом интересов слушателей, развития сотрудничества с местными образовательными учреждениями и Фондом «Русский мир». Представительство активно участвует в организации международных конференций, курсов повышения квалификации и конкурсов педагогов-русистов. В марте 2010 года Представительство открыло в Керале интерактивный  видеокурс, трансляцию которого обеспечивает индийский правительственный спутник «Edusat».  Благодаря новой технологии всего два русиста РЦНК в Тривандруме  теперь могут охватить около двухсот студентов из 14 регионов штата Керала. Работа по созданию дистанционных видеокурсов ведется сейчас в Ченнаи и Нью-Дели. Растет количество центров преподавания русского языка, открытых при поддержке Представительства. Ежегодно расширяется набор студентов, направляемых из Индии на учебу в Россию за счет средст федерального бюджета, а также учащихся индийских школ, которые при содействии РЦНК посещают летний языковой лагерь «Московия».

Все РЦНК способствуют набору иностранных студентов в российские вузы и поддерживают связи с их выпускниками. Ежегодно в мае на базе РЦНК и партнерских организаций проводится выставка-ярмарка российского высшего образования, в которой принимают участие представители 10-15 российских вузов. На постоянной основе в РЦНК в Нью-Дели и Ченнаи работает Российский центр международного образования, распространяющий информацию о вузах России и преимуществах российского образования.

Представительство видит свою задачу в дальнейшем укреплении связей с соотечественниками, проживающими в Индии, содействии их деятельности по расширению культурного, научного и делового сотрудничества с Россией. Наши соотечественники имеют возможность пользоваться библиотеками и видеотеками РЦНК, участвовать в клубной и кружковой работе, посещать курсы русского языка. Представительство всесторонне поддерживает действующую на базе РЦНК в Нью-Дели Делийскую ассоциацию российских соотечественников, а также клубы и общества соотечественников в Ченнаи и Мумбаи.  РЦНК оказывают содействие организациям соотечественников в проведении мероприятий, посвященных российским праздникам и памятным дням. При активном участии Представительства в августе 2010 года в РЦНК в Нью-Дели состоялась IV конференция соотечественников азиатско-тихоокеанского региона.

Сохранению национальной и культурной идентичности соотечественников в Индии, их связи с родиной, а также распространению информации о духовных ценностях народов России в Индии способствует взаимодействие Представительства с Русской Православной Церковью. Регулярно в РЦНК проводятся встречи и региональные конференции соотечественников с участием настоятеля прихода Святого Апостола Фомы (г. Нью-Дели).

В российских центрах науки и культуры проходят музыкальные фестивали, кинопросмотры, художественные и фотовыставки, организуются выступления российских творческих коллективов и известных деятелей искусства. Уникальным событием культурной жизни индийской столицы в 2010 году стала единственная за всю историю российско-индийских культурных связей выставка русской живописи XIX – XX веков «Русская зима» из собрания Государственного Русского музея (г. Санкт-Петербург), посвященная 45-летию РЦНК в Нью-Дели. В экспозицию вошли оригиналы картин Бориса Кустодиева, Алексея Саврасова, Константина Маковского, Петра Грузинского, Игоря Грабаря и других русских мастеров кисти.

В 2007 году Представительству и Посольству РФ совместно с ВК «Совэкспортфильм»  удалось вернуть в Индию российское кино. Первый после 1991 года полноценный российский кинофестиваль с участием звёзд отечественного кинематографа состоялся в апреле 2007 года и был приурочен к 60-летию установления дипотношений между нашими странами. После перерыва в почти 20 лет российские кинофестивали вновь стали ежегодно проходить в Нью-Дели и других крупных индийских городах.

Двигаясь в русле развития отношений России с другими странами СНГ, в августе 2010 года Представительство дало старт ежегодному международному кинофестивалю «Дружба», в котором принимают участие страны Содружества и Индия.

Весомый вклад в дело распространения информации о России и ценностях русской культуры  в Индии вносят творческие школы, клубы, студии, объединения по интересам, действующие при всех РЦНК. Особенной популярностью пользуются Школа русского классического балета, Шахматная академия им. Ботвинника, Шахматная школа им. Алехина, Киноклуб им. С. Эйзенштейна, молодежный литературный клуб «Рифма», Клуб любителей русского языка, художественные школы, классы вокала и фортепиано. 

Важной составляющей деятельности Представительства является формирование у местной аудитории интереса к достижениям нашей страны в сфере науки и высоких технологий, а также развитие российско-индийского делового сотрудничества. Стимулом к активизации работы в этом направлении стали 50-летие полета Ю.Гагарина, 300-летие М.В. Ломоносова, открытие инновационного центра «Сколково». Растущее внимание Представительство уделяет использованию побратимских связей между Москвой и Дели, Санкт-Петербургом и Мумбаи, Волгоградом и Ченнаи, а также привлечению российских регинов, в том числе Ставропольского и Алтайского краёв, к двустороннему сотрудничеству.  

Работа с молодежью также является одним из ключевых направлений деятельности Представительства. Каждый месяц в РЦНК в Нью-Дели проходят встречи молодежного литературного клуба «Рифма», на котором студенты делийских вузов знакомятся с русской литературой и азами художественного перевода с русского языка на хинди. Активизировалась работа РЦНК по проведению молодежных форумов, дискуссий и культурных программ в ведущих вузах Индии. Важной формой работы стали викторины для школьников и студентов на знание русской культуры, истории и научных достижений. В 2010 году состоялась первая всеиндийская интернет-викторина на знание истории Великой Отечественной войны, в которой приняли участие около пятисот школьников и студентов из разных уголков страны.

Россия и Индия – уже более десяти лет стратегические партнеры. Энергия российско-индийского сотрудничества, набравшего в последнее годы уверенный темп и весомое содержание, передается Представительству и заставляет работать в русле последних тенденций двусторонних отношений, которые в настоящий момент характеризуются как «привилегированное стратегическое партнерство».